Education and Ecstasy [Book Review]

Review of Metaphysics 23 (1):133-133 (1969)

Abstract
This book is much in the tradition of Paul Goodman and Edgar Friedenberg in that it accepts their critique of what is wrong with American education. But then it goes on to share a utopian vision of how it could and should be--a vision featuring a Summerhill-like, multi-media, "total environment" approach where life from birth to death is dedicated to the joys of learning. Leonard is currently vice-president of Esalen Institute and a veteran magazine journalist on education. He has written with considerable skill and passion a book that is as engrossing as a good novel. The book is intoxicating in its suggestion that perhaps there is some way to preserve and kindle the creative zest which all children are born with, without killing it as we do now by regimentation. Leonard not only spins out his own vision of the future, but does some first class reporting on current experiments which point the way to it and on current policies which block it. No educator, could fail to enjoy or benefit from this book.--S. O. H.
Keywords Catholic Tradition  Contemporary Philosophy  General Interest
Categories (categorize this paper)
ISBN(s) 0034-6632
DOI revmetaph1969231179
Options
Edit this record
Mark as duplicate
Export citation
Find it on Scholar
Request removal from index
Revision history

Download options

PhilArchive copy


Upload a copy of this paper     Check publisher's policy     Papers currently archived: 71,512
External links

Setup an account with your affiliations in order to access resources via your University's proxy server
Configure custom proxy (use this if your affiliation does not provide a proxy)
Through your library

References found in this work BETA

No references found.

Add more references

Citations of this work BETA

No citations found.

Add more citations

Similar books and articles

World Englishes: Agony and Ecstasy.Braj B. Kachru - 1996 - Journal of Aesthetic Education 30 (2):135.
On the Need for Dionysian Education in Schools Today.Sean Steel - 2014 - Educational Theory 64 (2):123-141.
Universal Game Theory.Kevin Nicholas Thomson - 2008 - Proceedings of the Xxii World Congress of Philosophy 34:57-61.
The Meaning of Ecstasy.Richard Squires - 1994 - Gnosis 33:68-71.
Ecstasy Revisited.Bruce Eisner - 1993 - Gnosis 26:55-9.
Terrorism as Strategy and Ecstasy.William May - 1974 - Social Research: An International Quarterly 41.
Agony and Ecstasy.Laura Gascoigne - 2013 - The Chesterton Review 39 (3/4):283-285.
Eros, Irony and Ecstasy.Laszlo Versenyi - 1962 - Thought: Fordham University Quarterly 37 (4):598-612.

Analytics

Added to PP index
2012-03-18

Total views
14 ( #735,623 of 2,520,899 )

Recent downloads (6 months)
2 ( #270,438 of 2,520,899 )

How can I increase my downloads?

Downloads

Sorry, there are not enough data points to plot this chart.

My notes