Metascience 23 (2):255-261 (2014)

Authors
Georg Schiemer
University of Vienna
Abstract
This excellent book presents a collection of eleven articles, all but one of which were written by William Demopoulos over the period of the last 19 years. The book comprises eight published articles, some of which have appeared only recently, as well as three new articles. The thematic scope of the topics investigated here is broad and ranges from Frege’s original logicist program outlined in his Grundlagen der Arithmetik (Frege 1884) to Carnap’s mature work on the logical reconstruction of scientific theories from the late 1950s and early 1960s. The book focuses on two general topics, namely (1) Frege’s logicism and its philosophical evaluation; and (2) the “abstract conception of theories,” that is, work in the tradition of Russell, Ramsey, and Carnap on formal theory reconstruction.Demopoulos’ contributions to (1) concern mainly the role of Hume’s Principle as an identity criterion for natural numbers as well as Frege’s understanding of the apriority and generality of arithmetical
Keywords No keywords specified (fix it)
Categories (categorize this paper)
ISBN(s)
DOI 10.1007/s11016-014-9884-9
Options
Edit this record
Mark as duplicate
Export citation
Find it on Scholar
Request removal from index
Revision history

Download options

PhilArchive copy


Upload a copy of this paper     Check publisher's policy     Papers currently archived: 69,114
External links

Setup an account with your affiliations in order to access resources via your University's proxy server
Configure custom proxy (use this if your affiliation does not provide a proxy)
Through your library

References found in this work BETA

The Analysis of Matter.Bertrand Russell - 1927 - London: Kegan Paul.
The Analysis of Matter.Bertrand Russell - 1927/1992 - Journal of Philosophical Studies 3 (9):93-95.
Logische Syntax der Sprache.Jörgen Jörgenfen - 1934 - Erkenntnis 4 (1):419-422.
Logische Syntax der Sprache.Rudolf Carnap & M. Black - 1935 - Mind 44 (176):499-511.

View all 8 references / Add more references

Citations of this work BETA

No citations found.

Add more citations

Similar books and articles

Frege's Theory of Real Numbers.Peter M. Simons - 1987 - History and Philosophy of Logic 8 (1):25--44.
Logicism Revisited.Otávio Bueno - 2001 - Principia 5 (1-2):99-124.
Frege on Definitions.Sanford Shieh - 2008 - Philosophy Compass 3 (5):992-1012.
The Contemporary Interest of an Old Doctrine.William Demopoulos - 1994 - PSA: Proceedings of the Biennial Meeting of the Philosophy of Science Association 1994:209 - 216.
Frege, Russell and Logicism: A Logical Reconstruction.Nino Cocchiarella - 1986 - In L. Haaparanta & J. Hintikka (eds.), Frege Synthesized. D. Reidel Publishing Co.. pp. 197--252.
Frege and the Rigorization of Analysis.William Demopoulos - 1994 - Journal of Philosophical Logic 23 (3):225 - 245.
Frege’s Puzzle and Arithmetical Formalism. Putting Things in Context.Sorin Costreie - 2013 - History and Philosophy of Logic 34 (3):207-224.

Analytics

Added to PP index
2014-03-25

Total views
18 ( #605,382 of 2,499,195 )

Recent downloads (6 months)
1 ( #419,059 of 2,499,195 )

How can I increase my downloads?

Downloads

My notes